Our Board of Directors

The Capital Region Landkeepers Trust is run by a Board of Directors, all of whom volunteer their time, knowledge and experience to the Trust. The generosity of the Directors and willingness to donate their expertise ensures that LKT is able to invest most funding towards achieving our strategic goals.

Alison Archer – Director

Alison is a Palawa woman–her mother’s country is in the Ben Lomond region of NW Tasmania. Alison has 35 years of federal government experience, including 17 years in the corporate and human resource management sectors and 18 years as a senior manager in heritage, environment and natural resource management. She was instrumental in the development and implementation of key cultural and natural heritage programs including the Cultural Heritage Program, Indigenous Heritage Program, Working on Country initiative, Saltwater (Turtle and Dugong) Program and Feral Camel Program. Alison worked with the States Territories and key community bodies to protect and manage national and world heritage places in Australia. She became a Director of the Capital Region Landkeepers Trust in 2014 and a member of the Greening Australia Advisory Committee in 2015.

Tony Bartlett – Director

Tony has nearly forty years of experience working in forestry and natural resource management positions in Victoria, ACT and the Commonwealth as well as working on development projects in Nepal and Vanuatu. He is currently the Forestry Research Program Manager for the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, with projects in 13 developing countries. tony has been a board member of Greening Australia (Capital Region) (9 years) and Greening Australia Limited (2 years). While on the national board he played a significant leadership role in the process to reform Greening Australia’s national governance to provide the organisation with a more sustainable future. Tony is a founding member of the Capital Region Landkeepers Trust and is passionate about ensuring there are viable mechanisms for the community and private sector to fund landscape restoration in the Capital region.

Jason Cummings – Director

Jason is currently the principal at Lyrebird Communications and was formerly the CEO of Greening Australia (Capital Region). Jason’s background includes executive leadership of environmental not-for-profit organisations, government relations and advocacy, and environmental research and analysis roles. Jason has a PhD in ecosystem rehabilitation from the University of New England, and is passionate about leaving the landscape in better shape than he found it. In 2017 he was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to explore innovative business models for supporting conservation.

Peter Davey – Director

Peter has 40 years of experience in natural resource management and agriculture; as a technical adviser, leader and volunteer. He has held a range of senior positions including Regional Director, Executive Director, CEO of the Hawkesbury Nepean Catchment Management Trust Commissioner, Commissioner Soil Conservation and Western Lands Commissioner. He has worked from the tropics of northern NSW to the outback. Peter is a Churchill Fellow and was a Visiting Fellow at the University of Western Sydney. In a volunteer capacity Peter was a long standing Board member with Greening Australia (Capital Region), and held the role of President. He was also a member of the (former) ACT Natural Resources Management Council and played an instrumental role in establishing the Landkeepers Trust.

Fiona Dyer – Director

Dr Fiona Dyer is Associate Professor in Water Science with the Institute for Applied Ecology (IAE), University of Canberra.  Her research aims to understand the ecological responses to flow management and is directed at informing the management of water resources. In doing so, she works closely with Catchment Management Agencies, community organisations, indigenous groups and water resource management agencies. Fiona has a strong interest in the management and restoration of landscapes to contribute to better outcomes for landscapes and freshwater systems. She currently leads a consortium of four government agencies and three universities to deliver the Lower Lachlan River long term environmental flow monitoring program for the Commonwealth Environmental Water Office as well as a major research project investigating nutrient and algal dynamics in urban stormwater systems for the ACT Government.  Fiona is a member of the Snowy Advisory Committee, the ACT NRM Advisory Committee, the ACT and Region Catchment Management Coordination Group and is the current Treasurer and past Chair of the Upper Murrumbidgee Catchment Network.

Will Higgisson – Director

Will has a broad background in ecological restoration and conservation in the Canberra Region, having contributed across a range of different roles in the private enterprise and government. Will’s background includes working as a native seed collector, nursery and seed bank curator for a regional botanic garden, horticulturalist at the Australian National Botanic Gardens, and site manager for two native plant restoration companies. Will is currently completing a PhD (due for submission February 2019) at the University of Canberra, which investigates the way floodplain vegetation communities respond to variations in flow and floodplain inundation patterns, with a view to inform decision making in water resource management.

Tricia Hopkins – Director

Tricia has extensive experience as a marketing strategy manager and event organiser, with a passionate interest in sustainability and protecting the environment. Owner / operator of a Canberra-based event management company, Tricia brings skills in marketing and provides logistics support to the Trust. Tricia directed the public launch of the Trust officiated by the Hon Simon Corbell, then ACT Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development. She has contributed to the development of a promotional strategy to enhance the profile of the Trust across the government, community and commercial sectors within the Capital Region.

Stu Jordan – Director

Stu is a Muruwarri man descending from the Brewarrina, Goodooga and Lightning Ridge areas. Stu previously ran his own horticultural business before moving into Indigenous affairs & land management with the federal government in 2008. Stu worked with the Department of Environment on programs including Working on Country (Indigenous Ranger Program), Indigenous Protected Areas, Indigenous Heritage Program, & Caring for our Country as an Indigenous Land Management Facilitator. During this time Stu also served for a period as Chair of the Dept’s Indigenous Staff Network prior to being relocated to the Dept of Prime Minister & Cabinet (PM&C).

Stu Left PM&C to briefly take up the position of CEO with Ngambri Local Aboriginal Land Council before moving to NSW Aboriginal Land Council as a Senior Project Officer providing support & advice to Local Aboriginal Land Councils primarily around governance & land management.

Sarah Ryan – Chair

Sarah is a leader in natural resource management in the Capital Region. She has a diverse career centred around agriculture, ecology and landscapes. She worked in CSIRO for nearly 30 years, and is still a Visiting Fellow there. She has also been an active contributor to the community both in natural resource management as Chair of the ACT Natural Resource Management Council, as a volunteer, and as Board member of Greening Australia (Capital Region): and in education, as a board member of CIT Council and then the University of Canberra where she is now Deputy Chancellor. Sarah has also bushwalked widely across the ACT region, is an active Park Care volunteer.