Our Region

For our purposes the Capital Region encompasses the ACT,  and the NSW Local Government areas of Queanbeyan-Palerang, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Yass Valley, Goulburn-Mulwarree, Upper Lachlan and Gundagai.

In whole or in part this region embraces Ngunnawal, Wiradjuri, Gundengurra and Ngarigo countries.

The Region’s landscapes face complex pressures resulting from past land practices and the new challenges of urban and peri-urban development and climate change. The region also hosts a high concentration of academic, scientific, public sector, non-government, community and commercial capacities that can be harnessed to advance landscape thinking and practice.